Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: FAQs (Pt. 2)

Picking up from where we left off in Failure to Register as a Sex Offender: FAQs (Pt. 1), below are some more answers to commonly asked questions that people have when they (or their loved ones) have been charged with failure to register as a sex offender.

Q: What are the penalties if a person is convicted of these charges?

If you’ve been charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Colorado, check out these FAQs. Or call us for specific advice regarding your case.

If you’ve been charged with Failure to Register as a Sex Offender in Colorado, check out these FAQs. Or call us for specific advice regarding your case.

A: The penalties upon conviction will depend on whether the charges are filed as a misdemeanor or felony offense. Specifically, the following penalties can be handed down:

  • If Failure to Register charges are filed as a Class 1 misdemeanor, then a person could face 6 to 18 months of jail time (and fines) if convicted of these charges.
  • If these charges are filed as a Class 6 felony, then a person could face between 1 year and 18 months in prison (and fines) upon conviction.
  • If these charges are filed as a Class 5 felony, then a person could face between 1 and 3 years in prison (and fines) upon conviction.

Q: Is it possible to get released from the obligation of registering as a sex offender without facing Failure to Register charges?

A: In some cases, yes. In other words, some people who have been ordered to register as sex offenders may be released from the obligation of having to register if they petition the court and their petition is granted. In general, however, for this petition to be granted:

  • A person cannot have been convicted of another sex crime since the previous offense.
  • All terms of the probation/parole for the previous offense must have been met/fulfilled.
  • A specific amount of time since the previous offense occurred has to have passed

If you are looking to get this obligation discontinued, be sure to talk to an attorney for assistance and professional advice regarding how to proceed.

Q: I’ve been charged with Failure to Register as a sex offender. What should I do now?

A: Call Flesch Law. The bottom line is that these charges can be very serious and that having an experienced defense attorney defending your rights will be critical to resolving the case as favorably as possible.

Denver Sex Crimes Defense Lawyers at Flesch Law

Individuals accused of any type of sex crime or violent crime have the right to their day in court, and working with an experienced defense attorney can make a significant difference in the outcome of the case. Those who have been charged with sexual assault on a child or any sex crime in Colorado are strongly encouraged to contact the discreet and skilled Denver sex crimes defense lawyers at Flesch Law for the strongest possible defense in their case.

While our trusted attorneys are skilled at aggressively defending the rights of the accused both inside and outside of the courtroom, we are also fiercely committed to helping out Clients achieve the best possible resolution to their cases.

To set up a free initial consult and learn more about your legal rights, call us at (303) 357-4724 or email us using the form on this page.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *