Sexual Assault on a Child or Minor

Any kind of sex crime involving a minor can be terrible to face, especially if the charges arise from false allegations or family trauma, but charges such as sexual assault on a child can be devastating. Felony crimes such as sexual assault on a minor can come with heavy sentencing requirements such as sex offender registry and mandatory prison time. The compassionate and aggressive Denver sex crimes defense attorneys at the law offices of Philip Smith can help those accused of these serious sex crimes throughout the entire case from the initial investigation to the criminal trial.

Laws Regarding Sexual Assault on a Child

According to Colorado Revised Statute Section 18-3-405, sexual assault on a child is defined as someone knowingly has sexual conduct with a minor under the age of fifteen if they are at least four years older than the alleged victim.
Class 4 Felony Sexual Assault on a Child
Under Colorado law, this criminal charge will generally result in a Class 4 Felony, which comes with strict sentencing requirements, including:

  • Up to $500,000 fine
  • Two to six years in prison
  • Three years parole
  • Colorado sex offender registry

Class 3 Felony Sexual Assault on a Child

In Colorado, sexual assault of a minor can be upgraded to a Class 3 Felony if the accused used force, threats or the assault occurred as a pattern of sexual abuse, which can be called “sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust.” A Class 3 Felony carries certain mandatory sentencing requirements, including:

  • 4 to 12 years in prison
  • 5 years parole
  • Up to $750,000 in fines
  • Sex offender registry

Colorado Sex Crime Laws Regarding Age

In Colorado, sex crimes involving minors such as sexual assault on a child involves an alleged victim who is under the age of fifteen. In order to be charged with this crime, the accused must be at least four years older than the alleged victim. While the laws are strict with regards to protecting children, law enforcement can sometimes accuse innocent people of these serious sex crimes. For example, a seventeen year old girl who is dating a fourteen year old boy could be charged with sexual assault on a child for participating in consensual sexual activity with her boyfriend.

Denver Sex Assault Defense Attorneys

We are well versed in all the nuances of Colorado sex crime law and can mount an effective defense. We understand that there are mitigating circumstances to many cases, and our experienced defense lawyers know how to present this information to the judge. Our attorneys can also advise you on how to talk to police during the investigation and will help you through every aspect of your criminal trial.